top of page
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Larance

A Bilingual Shadorma

I was challenged to write a "shadorma" poem, which is a syllabic poem that comes from Spain, I tried my hand at some bilingual writing in honor of its Spanish origins.



Surpresa

Iris morado

Abre hoy

Púrpura

El año pasado no

Estaba listo


Surprise bloom

Dark purple iris

Like Grandma’s

Violet

I thought it wouldn’t make it

Based upon last year

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

A teacher is a gardener.

A garden of children; a classroom of flowers. Kinder garten. A teacher is a gardener. We dig, we sweat, we get our hands dirty. We make plans, and we adjust them. And then we adjust them again. We spa

The Flavors of My Childhood

I swing my legs on the high stools at Steamboat’s between Dad and Kevin, as neon-yellow liquid cheese soaks into my salty fries and hot dog in their red plastic basket. (Age 4) Grandma turns from the

bottom of page